Justice is instructed by the Minister who made the proposal to prepare a draft bill expressing in legal terms the intent of the policy proposal. If the draft bill meets with the Minister's approval, he submits it to the Cabinet Committee on Legislation and House Planning where it is examined from a legal rather than a policy point of view. If the Committee agrees that the bill is acceptable in all respects and could be introduced in Parliament, it so reports to Cabinet and Cabinet decides whether to confirm the Committee's decision. If confirmation is given, the Prime Minister initials the bill and it is then introduced either in the Senate or the House of Commons, depending on constitutional and political considerations.

The order and manner in which a bill is considered in Parliament is the responsibility of the President of the Privy Council and House Leader who negotiates these matters with his counterparts in the opposition parties. If a bill is to be introduced in the Senate, the House Leader will discuss questions such as timing and tactics with the Leader of the Government in the Senate, who in turn will negotiate consideration of the bill with his counterpart in the Senate.

The Privy Council Office is a secretariat providing staff support to the Select Committee of the Privy Council and to the Cabinet. For the purposes of the Financial Administration Act it is considered a department of government. The Privy Council Office provides secretariats to serve the Cabinet, the Select Committee of the Privy Council and their various sub-committees. Since the Prime Minister is, in effect, chairman of the Cabinet, he is the Minister responsible for the Privy Council Office. The work of the Privy Council Office is directed by a public servant known as the Clerk of the Privy Council and Secretary to the Cabinet. He is the senior member of the Public Service.

Parliamentary secretaries. The Parliamentary Secretaries Act of June 1959 provided for the appointment of 16 parliamentary secretaries from among the members of the House of Commons to assist Ministers in the performance of their duties. That Act was amended by the Government Organization Act, 1970, which allows the number of parliamentary secretaries to equal the number of Ministers who hold offices listed in Section 4 of the Salaries Act (i.e. Ministers with departmental responsibilities, the Prime Minister and the President of the Privy Council). A parliamentary secretary works under the direction of his Minister and has no legal authority in respect of the department with which he is associated, nor is he given acting responsibility or any of the powers, duties and functions of a Minister in the event of his Minister's absence or incapacity. Parliamentary secretaries are appointed by the Prime Minister and hold office for 12 months.

At October 1, 1974, the following parliamentary secretaries, listed with their Ministers, were in office. The names of some of the parliamentary secretaries given below do not appear in the list of members of the House of Commons given in Table 3.4. These individuals were elected to Parliament at the July 8, 1974 general election while the detailed information required to bring Table 3.4 up to date was not available at the time of preparation of this chapter. John M. Reid to President of the Privy Council

Herb Breau to Secretary of State for External Affairs

Charles Turner to Minister of State for Science and Technology and Minister of Public Works

Cliff McIsaac to Minister of Transport

Bud Cullen to Minister of Finance

Raynald Guay to Postmaster General

Maurice Foster to Minister of Energy, Mines and Resources

Mark MacGuigan to Minister of Labour

Joseph Guay to Minister of Regional Economic Expansion

William Rompkey to Minister of Manpower and Immigration

Leonard Hopkins to Minister of National Defence

Gilles Marceau to Minister of Justice

Gaston Clermont to Minister of Industry, Trade and Commerce

Léopold Corriveau to Minister of Agriculture

Gustave Blouin to Secretary of State

Norman Cafik to Minister of Consumer and Corporate Affairs

Coline Campbell to Minister of National Health and Welfare

Leonard Marchand to Minister of the Environment

Pierre De Bané to Minister of State for Urban Affairs

Iona Campagnolo to Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development